Aarhus University Seal

English language requirements

All applicants must provide documentation of excellent communication skills in English which are considered essential, and you must therefore be able to read, write, and speak academic English fluently. English language requirement is comparable to a minimum of TOEFL 83 or IELTS 6,5.

Your qualifications can be documented by uploading one of the documents seen below. 

Attach supporting documentation of your English proficiency.

The PhD administration may ask you to document you proficiency in English at any time during the recruitment process if you have uploaded insufficient documentation to your application or if the assessment committee considers it necessary to ducument your skills further.

See our Application guide (Language skills) if you have any questions.

Below you will find examples on ways to document your English skills.

Danish upper secondary school ('gymnasium')

  • Diploma from Danish upper secondary school ('gymnasiebevis').

    The diploma must state B level in English.

    • Do you have an old diploma from Danish upper secondary without a level in English please see this "Oversigt over niveaubetegnelser" from 2011.

    • Applicants with a Danish degree (HF/STX) similar to the Danish upper secondary school ('gymnasium') can get their qualifications assessed if the diploma does not state that English was taught on B level. Please see this page: Individuel Kompetencevurdering (IKV)

Language tests (TOEFL, IELTS and Cambridge)

English language qualifications comparable to an 'English B level' in Denmark can be documented as follows:

    English B = Test result of at least 83 (internet-based test, TOEFL iBT and TOEFL iBT Special Home Edition test).
    • Aarhus University does not accept the TOEFL ITP, TOEFL Essentials, TOEFL MyBest scores or paper-based tests (incl. TOEFL ITP Plus for China Solution).
  • IELTS:
    English B = IELTS Academic test result of at least 6.5 points (in the overall band score).
  • Cambridge ESOL examinations
    English B = Cambridge English Advanced (grades A, B or C) or Cambridge English First (grade A) or 180 points as a minimum on the Cambridge English Scale.

    The grade must be within the blue area:

In addition, the following applies:

  • We accept test results older than two years.
  • You must upload your test result to your application through the application portal.
  • Both IELTS and TOEFL are offered in Denmark. TOEFL is specifically offered in Aarhus.

Applicants exempt from submitting an English test

  • Here are examples of English skills at Danish B-level:
    • A Danish qualifying entry examination ('gymnasium')
    • A Nordic qualifying entry examination
    • A qualifying entry examination from the Duborg School/A.P. Møller School
    • A qualifying entry examination from International Baccalaureate (from the IB diploma programme)
    • A qualifying entry examination from European Baccalaureate (from the “ScholaEuropaea”)

      The qualifying entry examination with an English level the Danish Agency for Science and Higher Education considers comparable to a Danish B-level in English and which is passed with a single subject GPA equivalent of 3.0 on the Danish 7-point scale as a minimum.  

      Please note: The comparison of the Nordic subject levels is updated once a year in the beginning of March and changes may therefore be announced shortly before the application deadline on 15 March.
  • Applicants with a complete high-school diploma/Upper Secondary School Leaving Examination, Bachelor’s or a Master's degree taught in English.

    The applicant must upload a document stating that the programme was taught in English.
  • Native speakers can upload a complete high-school diploma/Upper Secondary School Leaving Examination, Bachelor’s or a Master's degree from their country.
  • Applicants holding a Zeugnis der Allgemeinen Hochschulreife (Abiturzeugnis) from Germany with the subject English Leistungsfach/eA level. The subject must be passed with a single subject GPA equivalent of 2.0 on the Danish 7-point scale.